IRISH WHEATEN BREAD

This is my absolute favourite bread recipe. And possibly the only home economics recipe from my school I’ve kept.

salmon and bread 075

This loaf is especially popular in the north where it is known as ‘wheaten bread’ but found elsewhere in Ireland as brown soda bread.

The wholewheat flour and oats give a great nutty and wholesome flavour whilst retaining a perfect amount of sweetness, especially in the crispy crust. I should also add that this recipe is beyond easy. You can easily have it made in 15 minutes (and I’m a bit of a sloth in the kitchen so that’s being generous).

My mum serves this at Christmas time with salted Dromona Irish butter (I’m obsessed with the stuff- always get a raised eyebrow from airport security carrying two sticks of it back with me), smoked salmon, a squeeze of lemon and a twist of black pepper. It’s as close as we get to canapés in our house!

It’s so incredibly clichéd to say but this really is a taste of home for me.

Ingredients

salmon and bread 015

225g Wholemeal flour

30g Margarine

25g Caster sugar

1 Level teaspoon salt

1 Generous teaspoon baking soda

1/2 a pint of buttermilk (approx 240ml)

1 tbsp oats to sprinkle on top

Method

Preheat oven to gas mark 6 / 200C 2

Rub fat into flour, add salt, sugar and sieved baking soda

salmon and bread 019

Add enough buttermilk to form a soft dough

end nov 023

Place in loaf tin then sprinkle with oats. Cook in oven for approx 40 mins.

salmon and bread 047

When ready turn out onto a cooling rack then wrap in a clean tea-towel.

salmon and bread 064 salmon and bread 076

The last time I made these loaves, my boyfriend and I devoured one and a half of them in a day. Watch out for the bread bellies! Xx

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “IRISH WHEATEN BREAD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

